52 honoured at Annual Health Awards in Dubai

The 2nd edition of Annual Health Awards, jointly organised by DHA and HEALTH Magazine, honour 35 outstanding achievers, 17 trendsetters


Staff Report

Dubai – Winners of the second edition of the Annual Health Awards were awarded at a star-studded gala event at the Grand Hyatt Dubai on February 26, 2018. Jointly organised by Dubai Health Authority (DHA) and HEALTH Magazine, the event – the region’s biggest and most comprehensive annual awards for the healthcare sector – brought together more than a thousand healthcare leaders and professionals from the UAE’s private and public sectors.
Humaid Al Qutami, Chairman of the Board and Director-General of the Dubai Health Authority, the chief guest of the event, presented the Annual Health Awards 2018 to 35 winners in 23 categories including private and public sector organisations and individuals, as well as 17 legendary dignitaries – for their pioneering roles in shaping the healthcare industry of the region. Dr. Thumbay Moideen, Founder President of Thumbay Group and Publisher of HEALTH Magazine, was also present.
Humaid Al Qutami said that the DHA was proud to partner the Annual HEALTH Awards to honor outstanding achievements in healthcare, and to promote healthcare best practices. Noting that the awards had grown bigger in terms of participation as well as categories, he urged healthcare professionals and companies to participate in the upcoming editions.
Also in attendance were distinguished personalities like Sheikh Faisal Bin Saqr Al Qasimi (Chairman, Julphar), Dr. Abdul Rahim Jaffer (Former Under Secretary, MoH). The event was also graced by the presence of Arab Celebrity Mayssa Maghrebi and Bollywood celebrities Sanjay Dutt, Manyata Dutt and Rimi Sen.
The corporate award categories included honours for hospital infrastructure development, CSR contribution, innovative technology in healthcare, medical tourism etc. The individual categories included distinguished women, innovative researchers, leaders in healthcare etc.
Dr. Thumbay Moideen said that the Annual Health Awards was a perfect platform to celebrate healthcare accomplishments in the UAE. “Through the Annual HEALTH awards, we seek to honor the present generation of healthcare heroes, at the same time inspiring and motivating the present as well as future generation of professionals to nurture an innovative approach to healthcare. We are glad that the awards this year has attracted larger numbers of applicants and participants, on its way to emerging as the hallmark of healthcare excellence.”
Seventeen distinguished healthcare trendsetters were honoured with special awards as part of the Annual Health Awards 2018, in recognition of their invaluable contributions to the region’s healthcare industry. The awardees were: Sheikh Faisal Bin Saqr Al Qasimi (Chairman, Julphar), Abdul Rahim Jaffer (Former Under Secretary, MoH), Dr. B. R. Shetty (Chairman, BRS Ventures), Prof. Muscat Baron (Dean-Clinical, Dubai Medical College), Dr. Raja Easa Saleh al Gurg (Chairperson, Al Jalila Foundation), Dr. Najib Al Khaja (Secretary General, Sheikh Hamdan Awards for Medical Sciences), Dr. Yousuf Abdul Razak Al Bastaki (Director – Medical Education, DHA), Dr. Muhaddita Al Hashimi (Director, Higher Colleges of Technology), Prof. Rafia Ghubhash (Former President, Arabian Gulf University), H.E. Dr. Abdulla Al Khayat (Former Director, Latifa Hospital), Dr. Ahmed Al Hashimy (Member of the Board of Trustees, Sheikh Hamdan Awards for Medical Sciences), Dr. Zainab Abdulla Kazim (Gynecologist, First National Woman Doctor), Dr. Ahmed Kazim (Orthopedic Specialist, First National Male Doctor) Prof. Hossam Hamdy (Chancellor, Gulf Medical University), Dr. Michael Bitzer (CEO, Daman), Dr. Ajit Nagpal (Former Advisor MoH, Chancellor – Amity University), Dr. Mohamed Kouta (General Manager City, Pharmacy).


Distinguished Hospitals:
1. Prime Hospital, Dubai
2. Al Zahra Hospital, Dubai

Distinguished Clinics:
1. Child Early Intervention Medical Center, Dubai
2. Prime Medical Centers, UAE

Distinguished Laboratory Services:
1. Biosytech Medical Laboratory, Dubai

Distinguished Pharmacies:
1. Burjeel Hospital Pharmacy, Abu Dhabi

Distinguished Pharmaceutical Companies:
1. Neopharma, Abu Dhabi

Distinguished Medical Equipment & Supplies Providers:
1. Al Shomoukh Trading (Astamed), Dubai
2. Roche Diagnostics Middle East FZCO, Dubai

Distinguished Organizations For Innovative Technology:
1. DHA (Dubai Health Authority)-Primary Healthcare Service Sector, Dubai
2. Spotcheck, Dubai

Distinguished Organizations for CSR Contribution:
1. University Hospital, Sharjah

Distinguished Organizations for Medical Tourism:
1. Canadian Specialist Hospital, Dubai

Distinguished Organizations for Hospital Infrastructure Development:
1. RAK Hospital, Ras Al Khaimah

Distinguished Entity for Treating People of Determination:
1. Family Gathering – Dubai Health Authority, Dubai
2. School Health Services – Dubai health Authority, Dubai


Distinguished Leaders in Healthcare:
1. Dr. Hibah Shata (MD, Child Early Intervention Med Centre, Dubai)
2. Dr. Shyam VL (MD, Dr. Shyam Ayurvedic Center, Dubai)

Distinguished Executives in Healthcare:
1. Dr. Mohaymen Abdelghany (CEO, Al Zahra Hospital, Dubai)
2. Dr. Kishan Pakkal (CEO, International Modern Hospital, Dubai)
3. Dr. Shamsa Abdulla Ali Bin Hamad (COO, MedCare, Dubai)

Distinguished Physicians:
1. Dr. Monikaa Chawla (Consultant, Fakih IVF Fertility Center, Abu Dhabi)
2. Dr. Jamal Aldeen Alkoteesh (Chairman of Clinical Imaging Institute, Consultant -Al Ain Hospital, Al Ain)

Distinguished Surgeons:
1. Dr. Ashok Gupta (Consultant-Plastic Surgeon, CEDAR Jebel Ali International Hospital, Dubai)
2. Dr. Prashant Bhatia (Specialist Opthalmologist, Vista Healthcare, Dubai)
3. Dr. Buthainah Al Shunnar (Plastic Surgeon, Dubai)

Distinguished Medical Specialists:
1. Dr. Shallen Verma (Specialist Periodontist & Implantologist & Head of Dept., City Centre Clinic, Dubai)
2. Dr. Naeem Toosy (Consultant-Emergency Medicine, Sheikh Khalifa Hospital, Umm Al Quwain)

Distinguished Women in Healthcare:
1. Asma Ibrahim Al Hosany (Director of Nursing, Kuwait Hospital, Sharjah, MOHAP)
2. Mervat Mansour (Director of Quality & Patient Safety, Al Zahra Hospital, Dubai)
3. Dhoha Ahmad Mohamed Amin Hassan Alawadhi (Head of PHC-Quality & Excellence, Dubai Health Authority, Dubai)

Distinguished Innovative Researchers in Healthcare:
1. Prof. Adrian Kennedy (Chief Wellness Officer, Arabian Healthcare Group LLC)
2. Dr. Bassam (Consultant & Head of Pulmonary Medicine, Rashid Hospital, Dubai Health Authority)

Distinguished Nurses:
1. Kawthar Mohamed Yousef Al Ali (Deputy Director of Nursing, Kuwait Hospital, Sharjah)
2. Bleson Lukose (OR Manager, Medeor Hospital, Dubai)

– abdulbasit@theuaenews.com